A New Day

Unemployed mother- I heard this phrase on some sort of Brandy Bunch minisode recently and thought “That’s me!”  My kids are in college now. Every day they interact with friends I’ve never met, eat food I haven’t cooked, study subjects I am not teaching and sleep in beds in rooms that are not in our home. The truth is They Don’t Need Me Anymore.  I have been downsized. Or is it, I am the victim of downsizing? Anyway, it’s hard.  So I’ve been asking myself “What now?” A blog is not something that has ever appealed to me. I have never been one who journals. I spent many years writing articles for our local homeschool support group and articles for my daughter’s monthly newspaper. The last couple of years I have felt completely dried up, done as a writer. I’ve been empty, with nothing left to say, so choosing to at least attempt one blog post is a surprise to me.

My goal here is to try to find a way to encourage others as we walk this path together. I want to recapture a vision for my future. I have an inkling of an idea, but I am seeking the Lord’s guidance as I take one little step at a time. I want to look at each new day with enthusiasm, an adventure. I’m not there yet, but I am going to try. I loved being a stay- at- home mother, and as my daughter told me yesterday “You’ll always be a mother”, but there was a time, 30 years actually, when I wasn’t one. Time to find out where the path leads.

There I did it, I wrote a post.

2 thoughts on “A New Day

  1. blauren says:

    You have a comment! 🙂 I think you have a beautiful looking blog and should keep it up occasionally. Just sayin’. .

  2. Carole says:

    You are not alone in the post-mom doldrums! So many of my friends, and myself included, are lookin’ around for the “next big thing.” No kids at home leaves a big hole in your to-do list. Hang in there. Sometimes just doing what you’re doing is what God requires right now. Rest up. Recharge. Research. Something is around the bend, I just know it. I will look forward to reading your blog. I’ve add you to my ‘popular’ list.

Leave a comment